The type of screams that Maynard (lead singer of the band Tool) does:

exactly 6 minutes into the song
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XW0j0smt8fY

around 6:30, 'vicariously'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUGbu6Jcrmw

I realise this will take months(years) of practice, but how do I go about starting to learn this technique? I can't find any videos on it or anything, and when I attempt to do it I sound like a 13 year old throwing a hissy fit.

P.S. and anyone have an idea how he does that sort of 'raspy' voice throughout 'vicarious' and in the verse of the song 'lateralus' ?
Its actually very easy. It's a "fry scream" and I would say it is the easiest type of harsh vocals. I'm not an expert on this matter, but I think I could give you some tips on how I achieved it! and sorry for my english D:

1 - You should start with a "vocal fry" ; google it. Use this vocal fry & clean exrcises (scales etc) in order to warm up. NEVER scream without warming up!

2 - Use the diaphragm!

3 - Volume is important, you won't get a decent scream without volume.

4 - If your throat hurts, stop. It's normal if it hurts a bit, eventually the pain will disappear.

5 - practice, like everyday. the more practice the sooner you'll get to the desired point

Hope you find this useful. Good luck ;D
There is a giant screaming/growling thread at the top of this forum. Go there. But yeah, google vocal fry screaming and false cord screaming.
Joža je kul. On ma sirove z dodatki pa hambije.
Quote by gorkyporky
There is a giant screaming/growling thread at the top of this forum. Go there. But yeah, google vocal fry screaming and false cord screaming.

Is that the same type of 'growling' or 'screaming' as what I'm referring to? I don't mean the type of death/black metal growling, but more Maynard-like 'growling' (if you can even call it that… it's more like vocal rasp) Sorry that's the only way I can describe it, but listen to Tool's Lateralus or the other vids I posted to hear what I mean