i've been playing a strat and dinky for several years and was wanting to get a les paul. Due to the heavier weight of the les paul is it less comfortable to play for a long time? or no?

les pauls would be about 2-3 lbs heavier than the dinky that im playing, would this make a difference in comfort?

im thinking of getting a les paul tribute plus which would be around 10 lbs
Last edited by musicandthewave at Jun 28, 2014,
depends on the weight, strap, and balance really.

sitting i usually play classical style, like with a flying V.

keep it at ~9 pounds or under and you should be fine.
It's not something to really worry about. I play both (Strats and LPs). You just get used to it after awhile. I've played heavier guitars than Les Pauls. But they are comfortable to play sitting down (I play the Standard way (Right Knee)) but just be lucky it's not a double neck.

1996 Fender Tex Mex Stratocaster
1994 Ibanez Iceman ICB300 Bass
2011 Custom Gibson Les Paul
1984 Morley Power Wah
Squier P Bass
1983 Peavey Session 500
Line 6 POD 2.0.
Various BOSS Pedals
Pearl Forum Series Drums
I play both, just use a right angle cable on the Les Paul when sitting or you might get to much weight on the straight cable and kink it without realizing it because it plugs in down on the bottom where it is natural to rest it while sitting.
I think I'm one of the few who prefer heavyer guitars but I find les Paul's uncomfterble to play. It all comes down to preference go try a few out and decide for yourself if you like then.
yes Les Pauls are uncomfortable guitars. Its like driving a 70's muscle car, sure its no where near as nice on paper but there is a certain charm about it when u take it out on the weekend for an hour or so.
RG's & Mesa's
Quote by musicandthewave
i've been playing a strat and dinky for several years and was wanting to get a les paul. Due to the heavier weight of the les paul is it less comfortable to play for a long time? or no?