Didn't really know how to phrase the title lol
anyway, I'm new to writing music and music theory, and I have a question.
Say I have a guitar riff, and I want to write a flute melody (or guitar solo) to go over it, what do I need to consider in order for it to sound well together?
Typically people identify what the main chords of the riff are, then use the notes from the scale to create the lick. But I'm weary of saying this because many people write themselves into a rut by doing that, because they get too focused on the chords they are writing for and such. I'd say that's a fine method, but don't be afraid to go outside of it, even way outside of it.

If you're just starting out, you should learn the fundamentals of what notes are in a scale and how they relate to each other. Get to know the unique sound of each interval, and how they can work together. For example, if a guitar is playing the first note on a scale (I), a flute could play the third (III).

When you're soloing, you're usually going to be playing the scale of the key you're in (hopefully displacing the notes just a bit and not going up and down the same scale). As long as you land on a note that fits the chord you're playing (as long as the musical phrase ends on a 'right' note, it will sound good. For example, I could play an A minor chord, and do a lick that ends on either an A, a C, or an E and it will sound good, because those are the notes that make up the A minor chord. If I want to get fancy and end on a G or on a B, and make an Am7, or a Am9 chord, respectively, I can.