I'm looking for advice on buying a good guitar for a beginning teenager who will turn 15 in two months. He is my very good friend and is very interested in learning the guitar, but he doesn't like learning on the acoustic he has at home, because he wants to play rock and metal. As his birthday is coming forth, me and his mom are thinking of buying him an electric guitar as a gift to start his lessons with.

I actually play both acoustic and electric guitars for a few years myself, so am not a beginner, but am as confused on what to buy for him as they are.
There are just allot of options... I'd say a little bit too much, especially for complete beginners who don't yet know exactly what they want from a guitar since they have little to no experience with it. It's easier if someone says "I want a guitar like that and that..." or if they know what they want sound and shape wise. But that's not the case. So I just look around and don't know what to go for, really.

Okay so... I tried looking into specific styles of electric guitars like Stratocaster, Les Paul, SG, and various other, including metal guitars. I know that Fender, Yamaha, Ibanez and Epiphone make great beginner models, and also some other not so popular brands, so I'm not looking for the specific brand name for now.

As he doesn't know allot about guitar playing, I'm pretty skeptical of bringing him a guitar that's more than $300 as he doesn't yet know how to handle and play one. We don't even know how much would he practice. He talks allot like "I'd practice more if I had an electric..." but how much is this true we won't know until we get him one.

He is mostly into metal and hard rock music. His idols are AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Manowar, Hammerfall, KISS, Dire Straits, Metallica, Megadeth... more hard stuff.

I mean the guitar can be any color, but it would be best if it would be either black, white, or black-white combination. These are his favorite colors, but others are good too if it's for a good guitar.