Would anyone like to do a contextual analysis on the first 8 bars of Chopin's 4th Ballade? I am just getting into contextual analysis and wondering what other people's interpretations are. And plus, I am getting stuck in a lot of places.

Or does anyone know of any places where I can see what professionals have analyzed? Any published articles or books?
Last edited by Unreal T at Jun 29, 2014,
According to my Theory and Analysis textbook it is a two-level analysis. The top level gives gives roman numerals for each chord. The lower level supplies the contextual analysis-indicating how these harmonies function withing the basic phrase model (T-D-T).

Basically it's purpose is analyze the chords found in the phrases and how they function. So you may find that a phrase is actually composed of a I chord and then proceeds to a V chord as it nears end...a Tonic-Dominant (T-D) phrase.
Well, this "contextual analysis" thing I am learning about seems pretty interesting. It is pretty amazing if it works well with large scale works...I believe the book claims it does. I am finding out in this book that tonal harmony seems to be pretty structured whether one realizes it or not.
I don't believe it is Schenkerian. I think it is just some basic way of analyzing a tonal piece of music. I was just curious as to what others analyze it as...it would be great if I could find a professional analyzed piece but I don't know where to look.

Basically it is a method that takes all the notes and interprets them as phrases....those phrases/notes are then thought of as belonging to a particular chord...and the chord having a particular function. So the phrase may be 8 bars long...but actually just be a 1-5-1 progression using root position or inversions etc.

I'm certain this type of information can be found in a good college textbook on theory.