Hi...

I am a guitarist, with bit of keys knowledge

Use Furity loops 10 as DAW.

Have created mutliple insturmental tracks with drums supplied by Additive Drums (VST plugin)

My gf writes dark poems.... she has a huge list of them.... I plan to make a real song out of one....

Since the poems doesnt have verse/chorus.... i was thinking of making it more in line with 'bathory' style...

This is the first time I am faced with the task of creating music fitting for lyrics... I am confused from where should I start.. not sure of the direction I should take..

I did try starting creating a riff based on the tune/notes with which the song could be sung....

I did try my luck with google... but was not much of a help

So my fellow musicians and comrades... please feel free to provide me any tips/directions that you can.... everything will be appreciated....

Mr. T
Last edited by tobycm27 at Jun 30, 2014,
I personally can't write vocal melodies but I'd suggest making a sweet bassline and lead to go over it first. Also you may want to write Metal songs because Metal lyrics are practically dark poetry to begin with.
"I don't know what you're trying to suggest. There's no shame in taking what you need to hold your position!"

Super Buu (DBZ) on assimilation (it could also apply to blues guitar and guitar soloing in general).
Thanks...

my way of doing things (for instrumental) has always been
- play around guitar finding a good riff
- with the root/ main notes of the riff..... identify the scale
- build the song in the same scale... starts with variation of riff, bass lines
- drums to fit the song (my weakness)
- for solos.. usually use harmonic minor, pentatonic scale.....

this is how i used to do with an instrumental....

now with a lyrics... my aim is to go with these steps