Quick question. Just got a (guitar) slide, my first one. It's brass. They're supposed to get scratches on them right? It's not that I'm using it wrong or anything I hope? I know I'm not supposed to put pressure on it
Last edited by GodsPrototype at Jul 1, 2014,
Quote by GodsPrototype
Quick question. Just got a guitar, my first one. It's brass. They're supposed to get scratches on them right? It's not that I'm using it wrong or anything I hope? I know I'm not supposed to put pressure on it

Presumably you have a brass slide, not a brass guitar? That would be ridiculously heavy...

Yes, they will get scratches on them.
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
Quote by Arby911
Presumably you have a brass slide, not a brass guitar? That would be ridiculously heavy...

Yes, they will get scratches on them.

Haha my bad, sorry for that. Ok great. That's a relief. Just started playing with it for the first time. I started playing guitar 3 months ago, and this slide is amazing. It's a really fun thing to play with. Happy to know scratches are normal! Thank you!
Brass is pretty soft and scratches easily. I'd also say that you've picked the worst possible slide to learn with. Get yourself a glass one; much easier. I use glass and steel myself. When I am playing fast with a lot of lifting of the slide on and off the strings, I reach for the glass one.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
I have a glass slide.

It just sounds the best. No other reason. I don't like metal slides.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X