Hi guys,

I’ve been having some issues with myself lately (that sounds kinda gay but hear me out).

I started playing guitar about 12 years ago. My main influences at the time were 90s alternative/grunge bands, Nirvana being the most important one but also bands like Soundgarden, the Pixies, Garbage, … later on I heard about the Queens of the Stone Age and I was sold.

After a while I wanted to expand my musical horizon. As much as I liked my heavily distorted powerchord type music ( ), I knew there was more (and probably better) than that. I became interested in classic rock bands like Led Zep, Cream, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath,… as well as jazz, blues and other genres. That’s when I decided I wanted to become a better guitarist than the typical Kurt Cobain wannabe and started focusing more on theory, technique, and so on. Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Stoner rock (Sleep, Orange Goblin, Electric Wizard,&hellip which is not particularly “technical” music. As you can tell, a very broad range of influences.

Now my problem: whenever I try and sit down to write a guitar part, I’m totally lost in my “influences”, not knowing what direction I WANT my guitar playing to go in.
This is not a problem of theory, gear or whatever. I just don’t know where to start, there’s heaps of GREAT music out there. For example, when I hear Rory Gallagher blasting out his slide guitar licks, I’m in complete awe and want to do stuff like that myself. But what gets my heart really pumping is still the alternative, stoner, fuzzy kind of rock. Unfortunately, the best songs in those genres are so simple that they don’t “demand” very skilled playing. They don’t really present the challenge I need, to feel like I wrote a good song