I'm looking for a Gibson Les Paul with the thicker 1950's neck. I prefer the 498 pickups. Finding one of these in a guitar shop is pretty much a crapshoot. There are plenty online. Is there a big difference in the feel on Gibsons or if I like a certain model in a store would it pretty much play/feel like one I got online?
Just order it from someone who makes it easy to exchange it if you get a botched guitar.
If i where you i would visit a shop and try out a lot of les pauls. I love les pauls, but some can be dark, some can be bright. Go check some out and pick one.
Buying in person is always better, but if it isn't possible, shop with reputable dealers with good return policies. So far, most of my purchases have been sight unseen, and I've had almost no issues. The two problems I had were quickly rectified.

How expensive a guitar are we talking about?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
The Gibson necks are a lot more uniform than they used to be. Most of the shaping is done by machine these days, then they rub it down with sandpaper and call it "hand-carved". If you can find ten Les Pauls offering the 50's profile that you prefer, the differences between the necks will be nearly indistinguishable. The sound is a different story.
Quote by scorpio2billion
Most of the shaping is done by machine these days, then they rub it down with sandpaper and call it "hand-carved".

Said sandpaper is a an electric roller that can strip away a lot of wood. Gibson seems to employ these machines rather liberally, thus the reputation for producing necks of inconsistent thickness.