So, I'm pretty new at playing guitar, and I just started to REALLY learn about modes and scales and whatnot. I'll be honest, it really sucks. My question is(and I think I already know the answer) how often do you actually use these in songwriting and playing, versus just playing and seeing what happens?
Leave modes, now. You don´t want to deal with modes until you have a good basis of theoretical knowledge, especially since there is way to much wrong information about them (even around here).

You don´t need theoretical knowledge per say to write and play, it is mostly used for communicating and explaining stuff to other musicians. The most important aspect is a good ear, that is a must have if you want to play great and write great.

For starting out with theory however, i would recommend going through the lessons on the site "musictheory.net". It is a good start, if you go through the lessons thoroughly and don´t move on until you are sure you understand the lesson you are on.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Hi Mad dog.

I know I'm going to get flack for saying this but, it really doesn't matter. Well ok, it matters a little.

The real question is how long have you been playing? There is a certain skill threshold that makes learning the theory easier because you are not held back by your fingers and you can just play what you are learning.

If you still have a weak pinky or are still struggling with alternate picking then it may be best to leave the theory for a little bit and rather learn some songs by your favourite artists.