I don't know if this is pointless or not but just try to be understanding. Okay Randall RG3003. 300 watts. RG412. 200 watts. Can I run these in a half stack or do I have to go with the RG1503 150 watts? Meaning can a 300 watt head run a 200 watt cab or is that bad. I have a feeling it's bad but it's so hard to get a straight answer anymore. I'm new to all of this so just try not to feel I live under a rock and don't have any knowledge! I'm familiar with impedance and ohms so don't bother with that. Thanks.
Speaker cab should be greater than or equal to the amp in power or you risk blowing up the speakers if you start turning the amp up.
However, that being said, impedance comes into play too, especially with SS amps. The higher the impedance of the speakers, the lower the output from the amp. The manual should tell you what power the amp is into what impedance loads.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Last edited by Cathbard at Jul 6, 2014,
Tell me about speaker cables too. Is there a specific brand for certain amps or just as long as it says "speaker cable"?
Read my edit about impedance.

As long as it's a speaker cable you should be fine.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Quote by Cathbard
Speaker cab should be greater than or equal to the amp in power or you risk blowing up the speakers if you start turning the amp up.
However, that being said, impedance comes into play too, especially with SS amps. The higher the impedance of the speakers, the lower the output from the amp. The manual should tell you what power the amp is into what impedance loads.