I've been playing guitar for around 4 years, on and off at first, but recently regularly. I am a slow learner, but can play decently once I've got a song down.

I have recently tried playing Snow by the Red Hot CHili Peppers. While the main/intro riff isn't that hard to play, I'm having difficulty playing it up to speed after a week of attempts. Fast picking isn't my forte, but i've been playing using alternate picking and tried slowing it down until I could play it comfortably, but when I pick the speed up it just never sounds right
That riff is deceivingly fast. Quite amazing that Frusciante plays it while singing back-up vocals. The only thing you can do is stay slow and pick up the speed slowly. Play at the speed where you can play it well, then gradually crank up the speed. If you're starting to fumble, stop speeding up and practice at that speed until you get it down. It's gonna take a while and probably not going to happen overnight. Just keep at it and eventually you should be able to get it.
Been at this song for years and found that I never really started getting it til I stopped practicing the song and started working a little on my picking technique, just doing stuff to improve my right hand technique on a daily basis.

Not that I'n saying don't practice the piece, but I'd definitely recommend doing some exercises to improve your picking alongside it
One of the things you might want to try is play arpeggios in a certain time sig and accenting each 1 in a different time sig. For example, you might play an arpeggio in 4/4 time, but cross it with 5/4 for accents with an accent on every fifth beat. And of course you should always do that sort of stuff with a metronome.
John actually uses that technique himself when he practices.
That one's a pain in the ass to play. It's not a problem for the first 2-8-ish times but then it gets tiring, I know.