I've been playing guitar for about 6 years now. Up until now I've been content with my cheap solid state amp, but I've recently felt the urge to move into the tube world. I have my amp search narrowed down to two similarly priced used amps.

One is the Mesa Lonestar Classic 2x12---> http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Lone212

And the other is the Orange Rockerverb 50 2x12---> http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Rockerv50C/
Note: The one in the link is the MKII 1x12

My main guitar is a Fender American Standard Stratocaster. I play in a band, so I would like an amp suitable for small venues. My playing style is mostly aimed towards Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins, etc. I also enjoy playing more ambient, effect-driven music (Explosions in the Sky). Feel free to give a personal opinion of any of the amps or recommend a different one.

Thanks!
the Orange would be better out of those, the Lonestar is great clean amp, but it does not do high/mid-high gain well at all (without the help of pedals)

Check out the Splawn Streetrod combo, it would be a better fit I think
www.splawnguitars.com/amps08.htm
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
What kind of pickups do you have in the strat?

What era of Pumpkins are we talking? Their classic sound is through a Big Muff.

I'd actually look for a JCM 800 or 900 combo.
Charvel So-Cal (SH6TB/N, killswitch), Jackson RR5FR (TB6/Jazz, Drop C). Joyo pxl pro.
Loop1=Crybaby from hell, Boss PS-5, Seymour Duncan 805 or Green Rhino, EQD Hoof or Earthbound Audio Super Collider. Loop 1 into ISP Decimator II.
Loop 2 (FX loop)-Line6 M9, TC Spark Mini. Loop 2 into mxr 10band. All into a Peavey Triple XXX 212, Ibanez IL15.
Last edited by Maidenheadsteve at Jul 9, 2014,
Those are really different amplifiers, but they're both great in their own respects.