Page 1 of 2
I play light strings as otherwise my hands will start troubling me. I use 007" strings for the top. These I got from two different stores and both salespersons said I was the first ever to buy such light gauge.

Light is uncommon
I think that is kind of strange as light gauge is a great deal seen from many perspectives. Bends, thrills, hammer-ons, pull-offs and you name it becomes a lot easier. Probably many beginner-intermediate players are making it harder than necessary for themselves. I bet a lot of people pick up reinforcing bar sized strings with the hope of getting heavier sound and appearance, but will just get woozier bends and heavier arthritis.

Here is an article on the subject:
http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/String_Myths_Part_1

Few drawbacks
I don't know a lot about this yet, I'm a beginner/intermediate player. But I can at least give a technical opinion on the subject. I don't believe that heavier strings are equal to heavier or better tone on an electric instrument. On an acoustic guitar the story is completely different as it's the string itself who produces the sound. The string on an electric guitar is only there two create a basic signal, which we will then treat with electronic equipment (amplifier, pedals, speakers) to create the sound we want. Sure the string is affecting this signal, but not in the same way as it's affecting the sound on an acoustic guitar.

Drawbacks I've experienced with very light strings are that notes can be pulled out of tune if a string is pushed to hard. Muting can become a bit more tricky as strings are pushed down so easily. This can be counteracted by setting the string action fairly high. Currently I'm trying 1.8 mm.

EDIT: Well, yes they break a bit more often too. But a few minutes of string replacements is not much in relation to all hours of playing.

Another problem I think is playing a lightly stringed electric guitar, and then switch to an acoustic guitar, and back.

The list