Ive been playing and singing for about five years and I can play comfortably with a band but a lot of the time when I'm hanging out with friends theyll ask me to play. Whenever this happens my mind just goes blank and I forget everything. Its not really stage fright, its just off-stage. I cant be the only one whos experienced this and Id really like to be able to play for people casually.
You don't have to be on a literal stage in order to have stage fright.

What you have is stage fright. Only way to get through it is just to do it.
it's all just coming back
it's all coming back

it's all coming back to me
Any sort of stage fright can often be traced back to under-preparation. Have a piece ready in your bag of tricks for these situations. Practice it now and then. Use it as a warm up exercise maybe- that way you'll get used to playing it "cold"
Quote by AlanHB
It's the same as all other harmony. Surround yourself with skulls and candles if it helps.
Last edited by 91RG350 at Jul 15, 2014,
I don't think stage fright goes back to under-preparation.

I used to get stage fright like TS (I still do actually) when it comes to piano. If I've got a piano recital, I can play a song perfectly. Then go to just a few friends or family, like a smaller, more intimate setting, and if people ask me to play, I'll freeze up a bit, get a bit more nervous, etc. It doesn't have anything to do with lack of preparation, but more of just a lack of confidence. TS, you just can't let it shake you. Just gotta roll through it.
it's all coming back

I hear you, but argue that confidence and under-preparation are rarely seen in the same saloon....
Quote by AlanHB
It's the same as all other harmony. Surround yourself with skulls and candles if it helps.
I get the same way. Put me in a room full of strangers and I can rock the joint. Put me at a family gathering and I'll pull a blank when asked, "Play me something!"
Quote by Oblivion_Rps
haha... that was awesome... 'jesusaurus'