Hi, I was interested in peoples thoughts on the Gretsch G5022CWFE Rancher Falcon 6 string. I am after a not too expencive guitar. I am no pro but I also dont want total crap. I havent heard alot about Gretsch acoustic guitars.

I know I think this things looks amazing and is in my price range

I wouldn't normally reply since I haven't heard any Gretsches, but since you are interested in what people think about the looks of the guitar . . .

I think it looks awful (sorry).

Also, being a non-Martin laminated back and sides guitar, I wouldn't expect any goosebumps if I heard it.

There are much better guitar in that price range, imho.
Quote by gogonias
but since you are interested in what people think about the looks of the guitar . . .

There are much better guitar in that price range, imho.

I dont think I said that.

What are some better options?
I like it in red.

There is a certain tackiness the the Gretsch look. I expect you'll get wildly polar opposite opinions about their styling.

I'm not a big fan of pure white, and Gretsch is notorious for it with their, "White Falcon", and, "White Penguin" electrics.

I like the look of the "Rancher", but as I said I like the bright red version. Believe it or not, the red one seems "understated" to me, as compared to the white one you're showing.

I think the novelty of white would wear off and grow tiresome very quickly.

Dunno how the guitar sounds. But, its a jumbo, with a solid top. That said, that type of instrument usually projects very well, with a nice, tight bass. In the bottom end department, IMHO, jumbos have at leas as much bass as a dread, but it's a lot tighter.

I'll make the same suggestion as I made to another member, and that was to audition the Epiphone EJ-200CE also. It's in the same ballpark price wise.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Jul 16, 2014,
Quote by Captaincranky
I like it in red.