Page 1 of 3
I need a new computer and I want to start recording soon. I'm a pretty well practiced guitarist, but I know next to nothing about recording, DAW's, etc.

I've used Windows computers almost exclusively and I love them (albeit I'm not fond of windows 8 for aesthetic reasons). I know you can buy a comparable PC for half the price of a mac and customize it your heart's content.

On the other hand, I've never really used a mac. People who have them seem to think they're the bee's knees, and that makes me a little skeptical because I hate hype. Is mac really worth the extra money??? Is mac the ultimate computer for the aspiring artist??? Will it make me happy???

Objectively and subjectively, which OS has better DAW's, and, for that matter, better workflow? Keep in mind I don't just want to record guitar songs but I also want to start delving into EDM and synthpop (which probably isn't important but idk).

In essence: i know nothing about recording. I know about PCs. I don't know about macs. I also really love my PC's.

Oh and hey, I don't care about hardware because if I did I would go straight for a PC no question. This is about the OS and recording.
Last edited by Hungryformore21 at Jul 16, 2014,
It's not.

You don't need a mac.

The mac won't really give you self-fulfillment and eternal bliss the advertising and hype suggests and providing you aren't an idiot, you can do pretty much everything on a PC that you could on a mac. If price is no object, get whatever you feel in the mood for.
O.K.

“There's never enough time to do all the nothing you want.”
~ Bill Watterson

O__o
If you're content with Windows there's no need to switch up everything you know. The industry standards such as Pro Tools and Cubase are available on both systems.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM
Hey guys could you spare a minute to Vote for my band. Go to the site Search our band Listana with CTRL+F for quick and vote Thank you .
Quote by sam b