Hello everyone,

I'm a noob at this so apologies in advance for a stupid question, but...

When playing live, what difference does the amp wattage make, if the amp (combo) is mic'ed anyway? Am I missing something? Why can't one theoretically mic a Roland Micro Cube then? Why do people mostly play live with powerful amps? For example, would a mic'ed Vox AC15 be playable live?

And is it always possible to mic a combo or does it vary from venue to venue? If I bring my own mic, will the sound guy accommodate?

I'm just thinking of getting a nice combo to play at home on loooow levels but to also be able to bring it with me for gigs. Again, if I mic it, I can theoretically play Glastonbury, can't I? The mic'ed sound goes to the PA and voila. So why would one need a 50 or 100 watt amp, if everything is miced? Same question goes for amp + cabinet, when the cab is mic'ed.

Could someone please explain
for rent
Why can't one theoretically mic a Roland Micro Cube then?

You could just mic a Roland cube if you wanted to. However, you need to hear yourself while you play so it has to be powerfull enough for that. If you play outside, it's a little harder to hear yourself. Also, if you play in a band, the whole band needs to hear you while hearing themselves, wich often brings levels higher.

For example, would a mic'ed Vox AC15 be playable live?

This amp is playable live. The mic is for the P.A.. The amp is there so you can hear yourself.

And is it always possible to mic a combo or does it vary from venue to venue? If I bring my own mic, will the sound guy accommodate?

I never played a venue where is wasnt possible to mic, unless you are playing outside a cafe or somewhere like that where no P.A. has been set. They usually have all the mics necessary there, but if you like your mic better, bring it. I don't see why the tech would have a problem with that unless he can't manage your mic (somehow)...