Whats up everyone?
So for years I have been using Boss pedals and Multi effects units. My First Multi effects was the GT-8. This was super cool and really could do a lot of things.
I'm a Home Audio Video Installer/ Programmer/ Service Technician and Macro based operations is how I'm wired. When I got the GT-8 I thought this is it. Now I can press one button or foot stomp and make everything happen that I want. So for example, I can be playing my clean channel with Chorus reverb and Delay which setup sounds amazing for some of the stuff I write. Then with one press to another patch I can switch amp channels to my drive channel, remove the Reverb and Chorus but leave Delay and even with different setting on the delay all together. As a guitar player this is what I always knew I wanted as When I had all pedals , I had to press all that myself. During a song it sucked as you could miss a beat doing so getting everything setup the way you wanted. You would also need multiple pedals for Delay so you can have different settings for different things. Not anymore with the GT series.

So with all that being said I found an issue with it, tone suck out. My amp didn't sound the same when the GT was wired in the chain as it did with just pedals or nothing at all. This I pained through but then I sold it and went back to pedals.
With the loss of the Macro based set ups I started to search for another way. I found the TC system in the G I believe it was back then where you could manage all your pedals with this routing system. It was very expensive if you add in the cost of it plus all the pedals you want to use. I didn't find value in it.