So I've been playing guitar for about 6-7 years now, and it's feeling difficult to be motivated to practice and improve. I would say I'm moderately skilled, though I struggle with soloing. Specifically, I listen to A LOT of Avenged Sevenfold, and while I can play the riffs and rhythm to many of their songs, and can usually learn the majority of the song quickly. When it comes to the solo, or rather the faster sweep picked, rapid picking, parts of the solos, I just feel like I can't do it. So I move on, learn everything but the solo to another song, rinse and repeat.

So I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to help this, I feel like in the past year, I have hardly progressed at all (I haven't been playing as much cause of work, but still). Are there any bands which could perhaps act as a stepping stone to the more advanced soloing? Or should I just buckle down, and practice during all of my free time?

I love music, and love playing it, but when you don't feel like you're improving, it can be difficult. Any and all help is appreciated and thank you very much in advance!
Last edited by oXObsidianXo at Jul 21, 2014,
Might be best to actually take lessons for a while. Someone who can take the time to look at what you're doing, pick it apart and tell you how to get better.
Quote by Diemon Dave
Don't go ninjerin nobody don't need ninjerin'
Quote by slapsymcdougal
Might be best to actually take lessons for a while. Someone who can take the time to look at what you're doing, pick it apart and tell you how to get better.

This, I did it, it works.

Oh and TS, riffs, not rifts.
A poem.
Quote by yoman297
no girl, movember isnt for you. shave your stache pls

I can out-bore you any day
play jazz
Quote by SlackerBabbath
My ideal woman would be a grossly overweight woman who would happy go jogging, come home all sweaty and let me put my dick under her armpit while she shuffles a pack of cards.

Stay classy, pit.
Quote by N_J_B_B
play jazz

Or that
A poem.
Quote by yoman297