I've never recorded electric guitar before. Or anything, really. So I'm new to this side of doing things.

I'm trying to record something on electric guitar for my cousin's wedding. The wedding is in another country, in August, and I won't be able to go because of college. My family have asked me to compose and record some music for her since I can't be there.

So the thing I wrote has two lead melodies, moving in counterpoint harmony to each other. Since I've never recorded anything before, I don't have much proper equipment for it. I'm just recording the sound that comes out of the amp, on a Tascam DR40 microphone which belongs to another cousin. I know that's not the best way to get good sound quality in any case but it's the best I have.

And actually, it sounds pretty decent. My problem is, when I'm trying to record the lead lines, the other strings are making tiny noises which can sort of be heard. Is there any way I can stop this happening? Will it be ok if I just edit out the white noise later? The thing with doing that too much is that it can begin to sound thin and I don't want that to happen.

Can someone tell me if there's anything I can do about it please?
Signatureless. And this doesn't count. Because I said so.
Practice so you are not hitting the other strings. Learn how to keep the other strings muted.
My reverbnation page

2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73 Epi 6830E
72 Fender Telecaster
Epi Dot Studio
Epi LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e uke
antique banjolin
Squire J bass
Quote by MikeBmusic
Practice so you are not hitting the other strings. Learn how to keep the other strings muted.

Yes I have just recently started recording and it has proven to be much more difficult to mask the slightest unwanted sound. Technique is the most important thing when it comes recording an electric guitar.

On the other hand though...