My Kustom 72' Coupe guitar amp needs a new set of preamp tubes. The factory set are stock EH 12AX7 (3 of them.) Was looking for some advice: Are these good tubes to stay with, or should I be using some other brand and/or model 12AX7's? I play all kinds of music, from clean standards and pop to blues, classic rock and modern hard rock. I like the grit and bite I get from the stock tubes, but I'm no expert in this area. Any and all help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
The New Mullard 12ax7 is has the highest gain
JJ ecc83 are nice, but a bit darker tone
Tung Sol 12ax7 are known to be a bit brighter

I like experimenting with different tubes and tube combos. The differences aren't huge, but they are deff noticeable.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
I like old GE 12ax7, rca is good too but a lil pricier and I prefer GE. JJs are always solid.

As Robb said, they each have their own flavor without altering the overall tone too much. Just buy a bunch of different tubes and try 'em all
Fender Mustang/Derfenstein DST> Boss Power Wah> Pedal Monsters Klone> Bogner Uberschall> Walrus Audio Janus> Randall RM20> Line 6 M9> Randall RM20
^ yeah I have a few old tubes that sound amazing and I only use them when I record or play a big show (I know leave me alone ), but I have found new tubes that sound very good in my amps. and I always use a mix of tubes
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
I usually just pick up JJs from Eurotubes. There's more than one 12AX7/ECC83 tube available from them, and Bob can usually point out which is likely to do what, and he *will* answer emails. This might make for interesting reading: https://www.eurotubes.com/cart/index.php?page=tube_desc&destination=user_area