I'm not experienced with pedals or effects so im a bit confused. What is the difference between distortion, overdrive, and boost? Mainly talking about sound but also how it functions as well.
Basically, gain.
Fender Mustang/Derfenstein DST> Boss Power Wah> Pedal Monsters Klone> Bogner Uberschall> Walrus Audio Janus> Randall RM20> Line 6 M9> Randall RM20
In order of most gain (usually): Distortion, overdrive, boost. Now, gain can mean two things: amount of distortion or amount of volume. Most boost pedals are clean boosts, so "Gain" reflects a volume increase (they don't cause distortion or change your tone like overdrive and distortion pedals do).

Usually boosts have a level knob, then maybe some tone function. Overdrives and distortions have at least two knobs, level and gain (referring to how distorted the signal is), then (more often than not) knobs for tone.

D'you happen to need one of these for your setup?
Charvel So-Cal (SH6TB/N, killswitch), Jackson RR5FR (TB6/Jazz, Drop C). Joyo pxl pro.
Loop1=Crybaby from hell, Boss PS-5, Seymour Duncan 805 or Green Rhino, EQD Hoof or Earthbound Audio Super Collider. Loop 1 into ISP Decimator II.
Loop 2 (FX loop)-Line6 M9, TC Spark Mini. Loop 2 into mxr 10band. All into a Peavey Triple XXX 212, Ibanez IL15.
Last edited by Maidenheadsteve at Jul 24, 2014,
I don't "need" one, but I want one. I built a bazz fuss kit so I figured that I could build another.
distortions and overdrives have clipping diodes in them for sure, people do draw precise distinctions between them but these distinctions are not universal and there is much debate between these camps as to what the legitimate distinctions are. the one thing it seems people agree about is that an overdrive pedal generally provides less gain than a distortion pedal.

boost are pretty much an opamp or transistor in a box. no clipping diodes so generally significantly less gain characteristics.

Quote by Fret Frier