I'm fairly new to guitar and am looking to change the strings on my Washburn WD100DL Dreadnought. Since I am new to this, I was wondering what gauge strings would be recommended for this guitar. Feel free to also recommend brands, etc.

Thanks so much in advance and let me know if you need any more information!
Well, usually the recommendation is "acoustic lights", (.012 to .053). This is going to be predicated on several things. 1: How well your guitar is set up. Even lights can be uncomfortable when the action is too high. 2: How girly of a girl are you? I'm not being rude but, there is an issue of strength, how much discomfort, and callous you're willing to tolerate.

A dread really won't give of its best with string sets lighter than .012 to .053. Many of the men here like to string big bodied guitars with "medium". Those are .013 to .056, and are a real handful. They do give plenty of bass, volume, and projection though. I'm too much of a wuss for those myself.

A good setup and "custom lights", (.011 to .052), might be a reasonable compromise for you.

In any event, there are two basic "sound types" in acoustic strings. "Bronze", also called "brass." These are marked as 80/20 alloy, and are bright and chimey.

I find them ideal to liven up a laminate top guitar.

Then there's "phosphor bronze". These are warmer, without the "sting" of brass.

Different guitars, built with different woods, might be more receptive to one or the other. Then, there's your personal taste to factor in.

I think a majority of players here, or at least USA based players, use D'Addario strings, with the biggest nod given to their "EXP" series of coated strings. (longer lived than plain strings).

A sizable percentage of players use "Elixir" brand, which are coated as well.

So, some trial and error, or maybe "trial and more trial" will be required for your final selection. It's a decision that none of us can really make for you.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Jul 25, 2014,