Hey everyone, total noob here.

I picked up this guitar used probably around 5 years ago when I just really wanted to have a Les Paul shape. I haven't played the guitar regularly in quite some time as I've grown into different guitars, but recently I've been considering selling it.

After doing some research and realizing that the truss rod plate reading "Custom" didn't really match up with the whole 3 pickup thing, I began to do some research online, trying to figure out what the deal was. After googling the serial # on the back of the headstock, I found a thread about a guy complaining about the same guitar with my exact serial number, and the people on the thread guessing it was a fake. The thread was only a few months old, so it wasn't my guitar.

Would it be possible that guitars overlap when it comes to serial numbers? Or do I have a fake on my hands? I know there are some tell tale signs as to whether it is a fake or not, but I'm having some trouble determining it myself.

Here are some pictures of the guitar, if anyone can provide additional info, that would be much appreciated.

http://i.imgur.com/O6wgFPj.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/UT1MB5o.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/ckcMIbw.jpg
Definitely fake.

The two knobs on the left should be in a straight line with the pick guard screw and they should be parallel to the two knobs on the right.

Also, the washers for the tuning machines are too big.
As I suspected. This really sucks. Any suggested plan of action? Do I try and resell it as a fake? I would probably make the fact that its fake known to people, wouldn't want to sell it to anyone under false pretenses.

I doubt the place I bought it from would take it back 5 years later, nor would I expect them too.
Quote by user943
As I suspected. This really sucks. Any suggested plan of action? Do I try and resell it as a fake? I would probably make the fact that its fake known to people, wouldn't want to sell it to anyone under false pretenses.