Hi,

So the topic of this thread is to ask you all, how often do you complete your songs? By completing, I mean that you get them into a point that you could release them and call them complete songs, even if they're only demos and need tweaking.

I'm asking this since I'd like to compare my progress to other people. I've been studying music for about 5 years now I think, and even though I have a lot of ideas I rarely make complete songs. I have probably made like 3 songs within these five years that could be considered complete, and all of those need serious tweaking before I could release them on an official album (and all miss lyrics by the way).

So I'd like to know how other people handle composition, and how they progressed along the years. Maybe there are other people like me how have a ton of ideas but a meager amount of even semi-complete tracks, and maybe there are people who find it really easy to write simple, safe music but lack those great, unique ideas.

And to clarify, I'm not here asking for advice. I'm here as a musician who'd like to discuss his habits and skills with other musicians. Of course, good advice is appreciated, and if someone wants I can try to help them. But equal discussion is the point here.
That happens to me a lot too, sometimes I come up with a great part, and the next day it suddenly sounds hideous. But sometimes I'm really happy with what I've come up with, but everything that I try adding to it to make it more complete just doesn't feel right, and I end up burying it to my archives without ever completing it.
I used to do the same as you. For me, I never finished my compositions because I never reaaaallly liked what I was doing. I guess I had like a "Well this isn't gonna sound good if I finish it anyway, why even bother?" kinda attitude about it. Eventually I did reach a point where I started really liking the music I was making, and since then I tend to work tirelessly until I finish it.