I've been practicing guitar now for the last 3 years...I'm a older gentleman so it's taking me a little time to get my speed up and fingers moving fast (Classic Rock). I know all the pentatonic patterns and can pick pretty fast up and down the neck but it just sounds blahhhh not very melodic, I can hit some pretty nice licks but I need to learn the next step to making my solo melodic...what should I study to add to my solo's...arpeggio's I read alot on but havent quiet tried them...If I'm shredding up the neck with a fast solo what can I add to the pentatonic scales that Im using...Thanks in advanced
Quote by Quazzar
I've been practicing guitar now for the last 3 years...I'm a older gentleman so it's taking me a little time to get my speed up and fingers moving fast (Classic Rock). I know all the pentatonic patterns and can pick pretty fast up and down the neck but it just sounds blahhhh not very melodic, I can hit some pretty nice licks but I need to learn the next step to making my solo melodic...what should I study to add to my solo's...arpeggio's I read alot on but havent quiet tried them...If I'm shredding up the neck with a fast solo what can I add to the pentatonic scales that Im using...Thanks in advanced

Learn some solos.

Otherwise your just mechanically piecing together random ideas, which tends to sound blahhh and not very melodic.

If you like classic rock, there are tons of solos to learn.
Quote by Quazzar

I'd suggest that you work to understand and apply music more.

You fit the profile of what I consider a "carpetbombing" guitarist. You might know a scale and throw as many notes as you can in a at a progression, and sometimes some of them hit. So, they don't sound bad, but they don't really sound inspiring or "right" either.

If my read is right, then yes, you'll be living in a rut.