I'm a recording newbie, can someone explain to me what busses and auxiliary tracks are, what are their purposes and how they differ from each other? In easy terms please, I've looked for a tutorial but all of them go into more than I can understand.

Thanks
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Essentially, as far as most use is concerned, they're the same thing. If we're talking about in a DAW (the digital domain) they just refer to additional tracks you can send the output (or an extra output) of a channel to, so you can process it separately or use it for other stuff.

For example, if you want to use the same reverb on several tracks - maybe you've got the perfect reverb/delay for your lead guitar tone, but have a centre track and then a left and right track for a harmonised section elsewhere in the song… well, you could just apply those plug-ins to each track and then copy the settings across for it; or you could send a signal from the three guitar tracks to a new track (aux track) where you have the reverb/delay just once, but it will effect all of the tracks sent to it… that is more efficient on your computer's CPU but also more efficient of your time, if you're working to a deadline.

You can also create another track to send the three lead guitar tracks' main outputs to, and the output of the reverb/delay track, so once you have your levels set for each track and the verb, you now have them all assigned to one fader (called 'Lead Guitar') and for the rest of the mixing session, if you need to lower or raise the volume of the lead guitar tracks at all, you just need to play with one fader/channel.