Hello all!

Today I started learning John Petrucci's Lost Without You. I thought I'd try learning it by ear, as this is my preferred method of learning things before using tabs if I really can't figure something out. The slower melodies I find quite easy to transcribe and can play them pretty much instantly. When you get to some faster licks, I take much longer to get them. I have to play that part of the song over and over and sometimes I just can't figure them out note for note, even if I get the gist of the lick. Usually I know what scales to play but this song also gets into melodic minor territory, but besides that even when I know exactly what scale is used I find it hard to hear the notes when they're very fast. Is there anything I can do to get better at transcribing faster, more complicated licks with total accuracy? I want to be able to be totally independent of tabs someday, a lot of very accomplished players can do this no problem. Sorry for the crappy sentence structure, I'm writing this in a bit of a hurry.
^^^ Yep, that's about it.

Also if you want to be completely free from tabs, stop using tabs. It's that easy.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Hum along. If you have some ear for pitch and are able to keep a note with your voice then it should be easy to 'hum' along to the licks, especially when you slow them down. It may take some time but it'll be pretty precise at the end of the day. Check a note, or try to hum along with smaller sections of a lick (say every four notes). This will usually give you an idea of what notes to play. Then find them on your neck.

It usually helps to find the notes on a single string first off, then transposing it to different strings. That way you'll usually find out what position your hands/fingers should be at, and you'll be able to figure out different patterns and possibilities of playing the lick.