I have ibanez RG1570 basswood guitar and i want to upgrade it's stock pickups.
I did some research on various pickups and I seem to like D'marzio D Activators and Crunch Labs most,however I was not able to find a lot of their comparisons. Perhaps anyone tried both of them?
I only have a D Activator-X Bridge on a mahogony body 24.5 scale guitar.
It's not a X2N-edgy kind of compression but it sure is very compressed. Very low-middy.
From what I've heard, D Activator can cut a bit more than a D activator-X due to the upper-mid spike.

I've no experience in the Crunch Lab.
Do you feel like I do!?
I have a D Activator set in my S420. It's my go to djenter, the low end is really fat and powerful, but not muddy. It doesn't have surgical tightness and it's not anemic in any way. Real thick, bassy/low middy palm mutes.

Think Nocturne by Tesseract and A Wolf Amongst Ravens by After the Burial.

The Crunch lab I don't like. It's tighter and high middier in a way I don't like, it's honky in comparison. It's great if you are going for a virtuoso type of tone, but I haven't found it useful for anything else really.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Quote by Offworld92
I have a D Activator set in my S420. It's my go to djenter, the low end is really fat and powerful, but not muddy. It doesn't have surgical tightness and it's not anemic in any way. Real thick, bassy/low middy palm mutes.

That pretty much describes the D-Activator 7 set in my AW-7. Spot on.
Ibanez Prestige RG852MPB
Ibanez Prestige RG652KFX
ESP E-II M-1
LTD AW-7
Schecter Loomis NT
EVH 5150 III 50
PRS 212 DB
Line 6 POD HD500X
Deadhorse OD/Boss HM-2