Hi,

I'm a beginner guitarist and I need a suggestion on my guitar's upgrade. I have a J&D Les Paul 50 (the cheapest one) and I'm wondering to upgrade the pickups. Does this make necessary to upgrade also other electric stuff (internal cables, switches etc.). I'm looking to buy the James Hetfield pickups. I prefer playing rock and blues but with fatter sound.

Thanks for your attention and help!
If you like the guitar then yes upgrades are fine.

if your in the USA www.guitarfetish.com has a decent, cheap line of pickups. I use the GFS Fat Pat in my old LP copy and it sounds really good. Also it cost $30 new
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
I'd suggest holding off on changing pickups on a cheap guitar for quite a while, especially if you're a beginner. Often pickups will change your sound, but on a "tweak" basis, not as something that automatically gives you "that" sound. The rest of your rig (pedals, amp) usually needs to cover the gross issues first, before you get into pickup refinements.
^ Agreed.

Where are you, though? I'm guessing you're in Europe since Musicstore is one of the big dealers of J&D (I think). There are actually some pretty decent, fairly cheap pickups available these days. I haven't tried them yet, but Entwistle in particular are getting very good reviews (including from people who are familiar with high end handwound stuff). Their humbuckers start at around £15 or so (though the paf types are a bit more).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3