Right, so I bought a faulty line 6 flextone 60 watt off ebay with the intention of repairing it, and being a complete newb in the field I knew it would be challenging. Unfortunately I've reached a bit of a stalemate.
So when I first got the amp and turned it on is produced a warm buzzing noise as per the description of the seller. I plugged my guitar in and there was no response whatsoever. Then after about 5 seconds i hear a loud pop, the buzzing noise changes and some acrid strong smelling smoke starts coming out of one side of the amp.
I took the amp head out, opened it up and found no visible damage to any components. There was some brown stuff under one of the biggest two caps, but I think that's flux from the mountain of solder they used. There was a big bunch of caps on the side of the board where the smoke came from ranging from 1uf to 4700uf, and I used an ohmmeter touched to either side of each of the caps to test them, some went to infinite resistance others didn't. The ones that didn't I marked with a red pen, however, I'm not sure how valid the measurement is with the cap plugged in.
I cleaned out the pots and jacks with some switch cleaner, and put the whole thing back together again. This time when I turned the amp on it made a regular periodic popping and unpopping sound, no response to any input. When I plugged a little speaker into the phones jack, the amp actually worked, but still sounded a little funny (maybe it was the speakers' fault).
I know the standard protocol for solid states is to chuck em in the tip once they go, and I know a dock off line 6 probably wasn't the right place to start for a beginner, but I really want to get this thing repaired, so any help is hugely appreciated.
Aren't flextone's digital?

Fix the components gone bad and find a way to restore the thing to factory settings.
Also what caps exploded -tone stack, filter... ?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne