Hi guys, hope you can help me out.

I have been playing for only about 10mths now and I'm slowly getting better, very slowly I have a vox night train cab (112) and a BK Star HT5RH but I'm just not that happy with it. Cleans are ok, but the distortion for home use is crazy. Clean I can get the volume about 3/5, however on dist I can barley get it to 1!

Now I'm pretty new to the gear side as you can prob tell so really need your expert help. Should I get a metal pedal (boss mt2) and run through clean channel or bite the bullet and get a different amp head.

I like to play rock, metal and budget is up to £600, was looking at Vox NightTrain G2, Tiny Terror but just don't know what's best, suggestion plsss.

Thanks in advance
I don't quite understand you. As far as I know Blackstar distortion sounds more or less the same at any volume, until speaker distortion kicks in I guess which will never happen at home. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong. Are you unhappy with how the distortion sounds?
Sorry probably didn't explain very well, the sound I don't mind to much, although I don't think it's great. it's how loud the dist channel is vs the clean, its almost unusable for home s I can barley get it to 1, it's either off or really loud lol
It sounds like youre worrying about the numbers too much instead of just using your ears to level the volumes. In my experience, distortion channels are louder than clean channels at the same channel volume because the gain channel is driven to clip. It sort of makes sense that your clean is at 3 and lead only at 1
Quote by suckmahnuts
Watterboy, I love you.

Quote by davrossss
You are now my favourite person on UG.....You write cool shit.

Quote by wannabestoner69

You can use an eq pedal with a level slider to tame the dirt channel volume, if that's your problem. Way cheaper than buying a new amp.