Hi internet!
I need some help. I've recently joined a well established rock band who perform venues of all shapes and sizes all over the country. At my first rehearsal with them last week my 13 year old Marshall valvestate VS100 finally decided not to be an amp anymore. So, i'm in need of something to power my Marshall MF400 4x12 cab. unfortunately, i'm rather poor, but i need a powerful amp that sounds good live and in the studio for under £300.
I'll be playing mostly crunchy power chord rhythms

Since i've been using the same old (cheap hybrid) amp for 13 years, just for small, local gigs I don't have a clue what to look for. I'm hoping to find a good tube amp but most of them seem to be out of my price range. My fellow guitarist in this band is running a beautiful and extremely expensive custom made Weinbrock, so the affordable amp I go for has a lot to live up to.

Any advice would be appreciated
Last edited by 8ighty6ixed at Aug 10, 2014,
Check out the Jet City amps on Thomann.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Yes, 50w high gain jet city it is.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
This amp will do it and sound good while doing it and it is well under your budget at 229GBP
www.thomann.de/gb/jet_city_amplification_jca50h.htm
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
yeah jet city