Hi, I am still fairly new to audio engineering but it seems I have been getting the ropes on my DAW and the equipment I am using... (Focusrite iTrack solo, Akai Mpk, studio monitors) I have watched endless youtube videos of pro home studios and I aspire to have one of those myself one day... The thing is there is so much that goes into a studio, I have no idea where to even begin as far as upgrading and getting more quality equipment to make my songs sound better... I'm lost... I don't know where to begin... I don't want to buy the wrong things when other things are needed. I would like some help maybe a book or a website that can teach me how to setup the right signal chains and preamps and so fourth... This is just something I really want to learn and this is my cry for help
What are you recording, what are you producing, what mic's do you have, what monitors do you have, what DAW do you use... ?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
Using Logic pro X recording everything from rock to just techno beats... I don't have a mic just yet that would also come in handy but I put guitar direct into the focus rite as of now. Once i get a mic i hope to use that instead of direct in.
Quote by NinjaStrez
Using Logic pro X recording everything from rock to just techno beats... I don't have a mic just yet that would also come in handy but I put guitar direct into the focus rite as of now. Once i get a mic i hope to use that instead of direct in.

Looks like you figured out the first thing to upgrade - your lack of mic!

After that, upgrade as you identify a lack of quality. If you can't identify where to upgrade, then you don't need to upgrade it
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass