Hello!

I have been playing for about seven months, and I feel like I am in a rut. I seem to be doing the same thing every day, and the feeling has made me not quite motivated to play as I once had. I am a self taught player and I'm not really sure what to do.

I bought some note for note transcription books from guns n roses and some other bands but they are too hard. However I have a fake book and unless I'm doing something wrong, and not utilizing the fake book, I am finding it quite easy. I want to be able to play note for note songs by the time my first year anniversary comes around but quite frankly I feel like it won't happen since I'm in this rut.

My routine includes 20 minutes of eighth note finger exercises at 160-180 bpm and string skipping exercises at 130-145 bpm. Then I practice a minor and major scale for 15 minutes. After I play finger style playing for 45 minutes and then play songs from my fake book and my guitar tab app splitting my time between sight reading new songs and playing my favorite songs. Unless there is a 'next step' i am missing, it seems like a steep step to playing actual songs you could play publicly.

If I'm completely naive and out to lunch please tell me.
Quote by 6stringstudent
Hello!

I have been playing for about seven months, and I feel like I am in a rut. I seem to be doing the same thing every day, and the feeling has made me not quite motivated to play as I once had. I am a self taught player and I'm not really sure what to do.

I bought some note for note transcription books from guns n roses and some other bands but they are too hard. However I have a fake book and unless I'm doing something wrong, and not utilizing the fake book, I am finding it quite easy. I want to be able to play note for note songs by the time my first year anniversary comes around but quite frankly I feel like it won't happen since I'm in this rut.