When people say they are "self taught" do they mean they literally learned to play without the use of external influences such as books, videos, or the internet?
Or does it just mean they learned to play without a teacher or professional lessons?
I learned rhythmic guitar without any teachers or lessons and I am currently also learning lead through internet videos. Do I count as self taught, or does it only apply for people who picked up the instrument and kept trying stuff out until they were able to play?
I was self taught picked up a guitar, and tried to play it when I was 8
Never relying on the internet apart from tabs
Quote by ls2014
Or does it just mean they learned to play without a teacher or professional lessons?
I learned rhythmic guitar without any teachers or lessons and I am currently also learning lead through internet videos. Do I count as self taught...?

I think yes because otherwise "self-taught" guitarist is the one who was unlucky to stick on a remote desert island with a guitar.
Why do you care? No, really, why do you care? What does it matter if you can call yourself self taught or not?
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
When people say they're "self-taught", it usually means that they didn't have a tutor.

In reality they learnt from a wide variety of sources - books, tabs, videos and bandmates.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
In my opinion, self taught = without being with a physical one-on-one or group lessons teacher whether it be in person or via video calls
Gear:
- ESP LTD MH-50
- Strandberg OS 7
- A cheap fender strat knock-off not worth naming
- Garageband
- Boss GT-1
- Potato
Quote by ls2014