Hey everyone, I've been haunting these forums for quite a while and I need some serious help with something.

So I haven't played out in about a year but now I'm scheduled to play a local festival in about a month. I've NEVER played a festival before so I have no idea what to expect other than I know there will be a ton of bands and audience members. And I'm expected to play 30 minutes...

I'm a solo musician (just me and my guitar) and I'm kinda nervous because I'll probably the only solo act there. I want to play all originals . Another thing is that I only have 1 EP of sings to sell and no other merch to sell. For me, the goal is to make people curious enough about me to seek out my music.

Questions:
-Will I get a soundcheck?
- how can I keep it interesting for a whole 30 minutes?
- do you have any idea how I can "win the audience over"
I was much in the same situation as you are in right now a few years ago. And yes, it is a tough challenge to play a festival not dedicated to solo performers and be "competing" against full bands... but then again it is not.

A 30 minute set sounds just about right for you. Here's a few tips:

As far as your setlist goes, choose uptempo songs that have a good groove. Try to avoid playing slow ballads as they are much harder to perform in a festival setting.

With a 30 minute set you'll usually get to play 5 to 8 songs, depending on how long they are and how much talking you do in between. Keep your gig "dynamic", start with uptempo grooves and, like I said before, don't play slow ballads, at least not more than one, which should be placed somewhere in the middle of the set.

Play your best song last and your second best song first in the setlist.

Do throw in a cover tune (one should do). Any audience appreciates it when they "know" a tune. It'll help winning them over. And it'll show your range and skill as a musician, beyond your own stuff.