I saw John Mayer on some show playing that incredibaly beat up Strat of his. Yes it sounded great but I think it's because he plays well not because his guitar looks like it washed up on a beach somewhere. I have been playing guitar for close to 40 years now and still own two guitars that I bought in the 70's and took on many road trips with bands across the US clocking thousands of miles yet my guitars don't look anything near that. I understand things can happen when packing up at 2:00 am in the semi dark of a chug-and-puke bar and I have had guitars knocked over (and I have knocked them off stands more than once). Still none of my guitars look anything like some of guitars I see being played these days.
I am asking this seriously; Is this being done on purpose or is it some kind of guitar fashion thing that I just don't understand yet? I can understand the term "relic" to make a new guitar look older but some of these guitars are just plain destroyed. It seems a shame. So what am I not understanding? Thanks for your comments.
The original 50s strats had a thin nitro finish on them. It wore and cracked easily, especially after marinading in bar smoke and poor climate control for decades.

The relics are made to look like those instruments after all the wear, because modern finishes do not wear anywhere near as fast. Modern nitro is much more stable, and modern poly finishes are practically bulletproof compared to those original Fender sprays. If your guitars have a poly finish, they're going to look pretty nice after a decent polish even if they've been beat up for 40 years. They'll look that good in another 40, too. It's just a much tougher, more durable finish.

So to answer the question in a sentence: Some guitars genuinely have that much wear, it's a popular look to recreate, but it's not always fake. Few if any of those 50s vintage strats have been relic'd on purpose. It's genuine play wear.
Just set fire to it.