merry christmas gents, i'm putting some money in my MIM strat this year for our 5th anniversary. putting a new pickup in the bridge and i figured while i was at it with the wiring I'd look at some piezo bridges (something i've always wanted to try). Anyone care to share their experience/sound clips of these? I'm looking for a good approximation of an acoustic sound and heard that some piezos don't deliver that but rather a very clean sounding tone.
Would you be putting it on the metal bridge plate? That would probably sound very bright and almost tinny.

Yeah, they make a pretty clean sound but many luthiers I associate with say that unless the guitar is built with a piezo system stock, they usually don't sound great. The wood just doesn't vibrate the right way to make it work well. I've never played a guitar with an aftermarket piezo pickup so I have no firsthand experience with that. The ones I've played with them stock sound pretty good, but only through the right amp (usually an acoustic amp).
Gibson RD Silverburst w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors (SOLD)
Electra Omega Prime Ceruse
Fender Franken-Jag Bass

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Dunlop 105Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
Line 6 M9
I'd compare the Baggs against the Graph Tech Ghost system. Think you'll get a more believable acoustic tone out of their composite saddles than you would metal saddles.
Last edited by Black'n'Tan at Aug 24, 2014,
I had one (a Baggs) on a solidbody Ibanez Talman. It certainly had a different tone, (bright and jangly) but I didn't think it sounded anything like an acoustic; attack, sustain and decay were totally different. - They same kind of problems that acoustic emulators have. I like the piezo/magnetic combination on acoustics, but I've never had the urge to try it again on a solidbody.