hello people im a noob------i like my sound playing through a 4/12 cab but i only play in my house at very low volume i have a all tube blackstar ht-5r one 12" speaker combo with a extension cab input in the back ..im looking to add a high end 4x12 cab but need one that sounds good at low volume ..is it possible? i play metal and have lots of neighbors
Quote by IRONMAIDEN666XX
all tube blackstar ht-5r
No amp from the HT series is all tube.

If you don't have one, how can you tell you prefer the sound of a 4x12"?
Is the speaker on the HT5 the stock one?

Cabs don't sound worse at low volumes.
If anything, they sound better at low volumes from a technical point of view.
It's the human ears who prefer the sound of stuff when it's turned up - see the fletcher-munson curves.

So, to make a cab sound "full" and "big" you have to turn up the volume and have the cab move a certain amount of air.

A 4x12" will be better than a 1x12" for the fullness, though it'll not be that much better, and for the money of a good cab you can get an amp much better than the HT5.
For the money of a good cab you could get 2.

Also if you have to play at whisper volumes all the times, you might wanna get a pod.
If you can reach the sound of someone talking at a very high volume, or at least a fairly high volume, get a different amp.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
A 4x12 is not going to be your cabinet of first choice when it comes to playing at low volumes in a room environment, sorry.