First off all, I'm completely new to push-pull pots and have to start from zero. I couldn't find my answers in the older threads and didn't want to dig them out, so I hope a new one is okay.

My situation:
I'm talking about my Ibanez S570DXQM with 1 tone knob, 1 volume knob, HSH pickup configuration and a 5-way lever. My aim is to get som more tonal variety by installing a push-pull-pot. I do have some soldering experience, even before I swapped the stock INFs for Evos, so that's not the problem.

The current PU-selections are as follows:
1. Bridge
2. Splitted Bridge (inner coil) with middle
3. Middle
4. Splitted Neck (inner coil) with middle
5. Neck

I'm totally happy with this so far, but what I'd like to achieve with the push-pull-pot is something like this:
1. Splitted Bridge (outer coil)
2. Splittet Bridge (outer coil) + Middle
3. Bridge+Neck (all coils) OR splitted Bridge (inner coil) + splitted Neck (inner coil) OR Middle
4. Splittet Neck (outer coil) + Middle
5. Splitted Neck (outer coil)

So far I found this diagram on seymourduncan.com but it doesn't say anywhere what the outcome would be. Also note I have Evos and Dimarzio uses different colour signatures thatn SD, as far as I know.

I was planing on using this pot I found on thomann.com. It has 500k Ohm resistance and I couldn't find one with 250k Ohm. But from what I heard, 500k should be fine for humbuckers. Am I right?

And last but not least, the probably dumbes question: I'd only need ONE pot, right? Because I've seen people using two and even three pots :/

Thanks in advance and please don't kill me for my ignorance
Ibanez S570DXQM-BBB
DiMarzio Evolution HSH
Ibanez RG927WBBZ-TGF
DiMarzio Evolution 7 & DiMarzio LiquiFire 7
Peavey Valve King 112, Peavey Vypyr 15
Harley Benton NG-100, Ibanez Weeping Demon

Quote by metalmingee
In fact, wanting different tunings is one of the best reasons to convince others that you need more guitars.
Last edited by Dragonfyre137 at Aug 26, 2014,