I recently bought a Fender stratocaster MiM and was struggling with (fine) tuning it. I also own a PRS SE Custom 24. I was exploring upgrading the guitar and posted a query earlier here.

I am an engineer and product designer by profession and while that gives me some understanding of the mechanics of a guitar, I cannot claim any expertise so feel free to trash my views. To begin with, I had some hypotheses about what might be the issues with an entry level guitar such as Fender Strat MiM -- namely economies of scale may affect quality of materials, error rates, tolerances etc.

So, I decided to explore how I might extract more value from my guitar through various means. At first I considered replacing the pick ups, tuning keys and bridge --which would cost considerably (nearly the cost of the instrument). Then, after talking to some experienced forum members here, I decided to go for a set up by a top notch luthier.

On taking possession of the guitar after the set up, I did not find any significant improvement -- either in the tuning stability or in the intonation. I came to realise that the guitar was actually quite well set up from the factory and my anxiety (and the fact that I was aware I did not buy an American Strat) had a placebo effect on my perception of the MiM strat. The intonation, action, and tuning was good enough as set up in the factory.

My advise to anyone buying a budget instrument would be that they are generally speaking great value for money (at least I can say that about strats), unless they are lemons. So, here's a tip -- try the guitar out well in the shop, have it set up if required and you will be good to go.