Hey all!

After many years of guitar playing, I've started to play with the idea of getting a stack after ten years of using only combos. Specifically, I'm going to sell my Fender HRD and Peavey Valveking and replace them with (probably) an Orange TH30, an amp which appears to suit all my needs. (Other amp suggestions are also welcome)

But, I have no idea what cab to accompany it with, since I have no experience with stacks. Open back or closed back? How many speakers and what size? I have no idea. I'm looking something that can do a bit of anything. Specifically, it needs to be able to handle 'big' stoner or space rock sounds which my 1x12 combos can't really deal with. So I was thinking at least a 2x12 of some sort I don't want anything massive; this will be sitting in my bedroom most of the time, and in these days of sophisticated in-house PAs, few non-professional guitar players 'need' huge amplifiers.

Or, should I just go for the TH30 combo?

Help.
I'd go with a 212 with V30's. They react nicely to the TH30. Greenbacks are also a good option, in my opinion. I like the V30's more, but the Greenbacks work for a more vintage sound-character.

The combo ain't bad, but won't get much bass-response.
Ive got that cab and i was the same as you re quality. Its actually solidly built and is made from plywood not MDF (if im not mistaken). Closed back too

Its basically made out of the same stuff, has the same dimensions and has the same speakers as the Orange closed back cab. The only difference really is the colour of the tolex and the badge.

The HB one is about £150
The Orange one is about £550
Quote by LivinJoke84
Ive got that cab and i was the same as you re quality. Its actually solidly built and is made from plywood not MDF (if im not mistaken). Closed back too

Its basically made out of the same stuff, has the same dimensions and has the same speakers as the Orange closed back cab. The only difference really is the colour of the tolex and the badge.