I'm having problems with picking when learning the lead part of the Drawn To Black-riff by Insomnium. I am a beginner so it has passed a week already and I still can't play it properly.

Question 1:
Should you use bar chords in lead metal riffs or avoid them? For example, if I have to move the same finger down the same fret several notes in a row, is this bad? Because I think it's really hard. Should I use a bar chord here instead? Then how do you mute and play bar chords properly in metal?

Question 2:
When I need to pick like the second or the third string below, I think I should move my whole arm to bring the picking hand closer to the strings and to mute the previous strings with the fleshy part of the picking hand right? But my problem is that my underarm gets stuck on the guitar and my hand gets stuck in the strings when trying to move it. How much pressure should you have when resting the underarm on the guitar body and resting the picking hand on the strings to move your picking had up and down smoothly?

Question 3:
Is the Drawn To Black-intro lead riff too hard to learn for a beginner? There is a lot of picking going on.
Quote by Zerpent93
Question 1:
Should you use bar chords in lead metal riffs or avoid them? For example, if I have to move the same finger down the same fret several notes in a row, is this bad? Because I think it's really hard. Should I use a bar chord here instead? Then how do you mute and play bar chords properly in metal?

Ok, so firstly you're using the wrong name (and the wrong spelling of it); a barre chord is a chord, and not generally a lead idea, barre chords are things like this:

e|5
b|5
g|6
d|7
a|7
e|5