Okay, I've got about £200-£300 to spend on a new bass because I got a summer job. I really want a 5 string as I've been playing my 4 string Stagg for almost 2 years now and its time for a change

I'm already pretty set on getting a Squier modified Jaguar 5

but a black finish

I was looking at the P, but my reasoning behind getting the Jag is that its the same as the P, but with the jazz pickups as well. So its much more versatile. (and looks a lot nicer)

My only problem, is I'm not sure how well it'd handle a lot of the music I want to play on it. I'll be playing a lot of metal, some punk and hard rock. As well as some blues and pop stuff. But mostly metal. So would I be better off getting an Ibanez, or LTD or something else? If so, any recommendations? I know my budget is quite low, but I'm not gigging or anything atm, just a practice bass is needed, nothing too fancy

Any advice/insight would be really appreciated
For metal playing, LTD is a solid choice. I have a Frank Bello signature bass and it handles everything from blues to thrash metal. I haven't really played any five strings, so everything I say is based on the four string versions.