Hi, I've been playing guitar for about 3 years now and I think its about time I actually so something with being able to play the guitar. I've taken playing/practicing really seriously over the past year and have practiced quite intensely and I've learnt a hell of a lot. I feel that I may be good enough to perform live, not as a lead guitarist but as a rhythm or something (no disrespect to rhythm guitar players), just so I can learn the very basics of playing live. As I can imagine its nothing like playing to yourself, or to a record. Does anyone out there have any advice for me, the do's and dont's? I think my setup is decent enough to perform with listed below. I plan on playing rock/hard rock/indie rock. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Gibson Les Paul Standard (Year 2000)
Amp- Marshall JCM2000 50W with a 4X12 Super Lead Speakers
Backup- Fender Strat Mexican & Epiphone G-1275

,Ryan
Quote by lambofgod127
btw im in hs and im almost 18 so if u do think she was flirting with me dont say that its wrong im almost a grown man.

༼ ▀̿Ĺ̯▀̿ ̿ ༽ WE ARE ROB ༼ ▀̿Ĺ̯▀̿ ̿ ༽
Quote by ryan2t69
I plan on playing rock/hard rock/indie rock. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Here's my advice. Don't.
First things first, buddy. Ever played with other people? No? Have a couple jam sessions with some other guys or gals. Meet some musicians that you'd consider having a band with. Then worry 'bout your setup (which is pretty decent really, maybe you could use some effects pedal in there too - that's all though)

If there are people with experience on this field in your area, best talk to them about this stuff - they'll give much better knowledge face-to-face than the forums can.
small band? as opposed to a big band like swing jazz or something?
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Don't:
-Have any hope of anything
Dance in the moonlight my old friend twilight

Quote by metal4eva_22