Hey there, I broke the first string (smallest string) on a new Floyd Rose guitar while tuning from E Drop D to E Standard. I was almost done tuning it, I had gotten to the final string, and "ping". It snapped at the headstock. The floating bridge was tilting pretty far towards to head of the guitar. Should I have leveled the bridge by loosening the springs in the back of the guitar first?

I'm relatively new to Floyd Rose so maybe I was unaware of how to properly tune it to begin with. Can someone enlighten me on why it broke?

Other info: Strings used are Ernie Ball Regular Slinky, (.010-.046).
Method of tuning to BOTH E Drop D and E Standard was starting with Low E > A > Low E > A > D > Low E > A > D > G etc etc.

Also another thing that's eating away at me is, can it cause damage to the bridge if there's too much tension on either the strings or springs?
Last edited by AnythingHere at Sep 1, 2014,
Can you pull up(the opposite of diving) on the strings? If you can, then you shouldn't be changing tunings. It really messes with the tuning of the other strings.

On the other hand, if you can't pull up, I suggest you get the EVH D-Tuna if you can afford it. It tunes your low E to D without you having to retune everything else.

To answer your first question, it could possibly be burrs on either the saddles or the nut but the most probable cause is old/worn out strings. You could fix it(the burrs) yourself with some sandpaper like I do or, if you're afraid you might damage your guitar, bring it to a tech/the place you purchased it.

If there was too much tension on the strings or springs, you would know. The bridge would rise off of the body(high string tension, low spring tension) or sink into the body(high spring tension, low string tension). Your bridge/strings/guitar neck should be fine as long as you're not playing at G standard or higher.