Marshall MG15CF/CFX
2 10%
Peavey Vypyr VIP 1
16 76%
Line 6 Spider IV 15
2 10%
Voters: 21.
Hello.
I am an absolute beginner and I need an amp. I've read reviews, watched loads of videos and went to my local music store to listen to some amps performing 'live'. And I've 'narrowed' it down to these things:
Yamaha GA15; Cort MX15R; Marshall MG15CF/CFX; Line 6 Spider IV 15W.
And I would buy the Peavey Vypyr VIP 1, but it's not available in my local store and this means I have to use eBay/musiciansfriend etc. to get it, which might be a bit risky (didn't hear it live too).
So what I want from my amp: build and sound quality (at that price range) and versatility (great distortion and great clean tone). No rock/metal/blues preferences. A good practice amp basically. Should I stick with the 'classic' no frills Marshall amps (the listed ones), or should I go somewhat deeper?
Sorry if something seems noobish. Please forgive me this time.
Thank you.
Edited - thanks for the feedback (where did you find that page?

Budget - up to ~180US$/110 GBP.

Genres - rock/alternative rock/classic rock/metal/blues/punk rock/psychedelic rock.

Preferably new gear, home use only.

Closest City - Aalborg (Denmark).

Current Gear - none, just a few picks.
Last edited by annoying100 at Sep 4, 2014,
I bought a mg15cfr to carry around to "light/songwriting" sessions yesterday for $140usd. I'm honestly shocked how well it sounded from the last time I plugged into one. It's a solid no frill practice amp for sure. It'll get the job done. Just be sure to keep enough money in your budget for a guitar.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/yamaha-gigmaker-eg-electric-guitar-pack/516049000001000?source=3WWRWXGP&gclid=Cj0KEQjwm6CgBRC0zOmrydrqmosBEiQA_xoLRp6DdCvPEBPQK8VsBYhhZhYJcZH_aFE21mqfgHQJqpsaAm3X8P8HAQ&kwid=productads-plaid^18283950120-sku^516049000001000@ADL4MF-adType^PLA-device^c-adid^46504699467#productDetail