Page 1 of 2
I'm no rap expert, I only have Kanye West's avatar due to comic relief, but I have gotten more interested in hip hop and rap lately and I've noticed one thing: all rappers rap about themselves and how awesome they are.

Why do they do this?

Is there nothing else to rap about?

Even the rappers that aren't swimming in money and hos rap about how they're swimming in money and hos.

Can Pit's rap experts explain this plz?

If they truly think they're that amazing, when they're probably quite average people, should we as guitarist pat ourselves in the back more and stop being so humble?
you've listened to a very small amount of rap if this is your impression of it
it's all just coming back
it's all coming back

it's all coming back to me
Quote by Baby Joel

This.

Rapping is a competitive field, which is where the braggadocio comes from. Plus it can be entertaining/good performing art.

lol @ the idea of guitarists being humbling.
Quote by slipknot5678
This.

Rapping is a competitive field, which is where the braggadocio comes from. Plus it can be entertaining/good performing art.

lol @ the idea of guitarists being humbling.

mate why are you still awake

why am I still awake

help
it's all coming back

I don't listen to a lot of rap but I definitely prefer it when rappers rap about more down-to-Earth stuff as opposed to how much money they make and how great they are. I just don't wanna listen to that.

What is particularly offensive is in Problem by Ariana Grande when Iggy Azeala appears and immediately starts rapping her own name in the song and I am like get out girl you're so annoying it's not even your song.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjVC_jrHcHI

longing rusted furnace daybreak seventeen benign nine homecoming one freight car
Quote by Baby Joel
Yeah, this. Like that one song about the booty and how it is rocking. Specifically, everywhere.
Quote by snipelfritz
You lost me at "Lubricate."